Warning: Illegal string offset 'source1' in /home/zonerspo/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-original-source/multiple-source.php on line 121

Warning: Illegal string offset 'source2' in /home/zonerspo/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-original-source/multiple-source.php on line 122

Warning: Illegal string offset 'source3' in /home/zonerspo/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-original-source/multiple-source.php on line 123

Warning: Illegal string offset 'source4' in /home/zonerspo/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-original-source/multiple-source.php on line 124

Warning: Illegal string offset 'source5' in /home/zonerspo/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-original-source/multiple-source.php on line 125

Monday, July 23rd, 2018

US Masters

WordPress database error: [Got error 28 from storage engine]
SELECT t.*, tt.* FROM wp_terms AS t INNER JOIN wp_term_taxonomy AS tt ON tt.term_id = t.term_id INNER JOIN wp_term_relationships AS tr ON tr.term_taxonomy_id = tt.term_taxonomy_id WHERE tt.taxonomy IN ('post_tag') AND tr.object_id IN (5724) ORDER BY t.name ASC

US Masters Golf Betting

The Masters Tournament is the first major of the professional golf year and is held each year during the first full week of April. Unlike the other three majors, The Masters is always held at the same course – at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia. The winner of The Masters is awarded the traditional green jacket, perhaps the most coveted prize in all of golf.

The Masters also features the smallest field of any major tournament, usually around 90 players.

The field at The Masters is by invitation only, with eligibility primarily determined by past performance. Previous Masters winners get lifetime invitations. Also eligible are winners of the other majors from the past five years, winners of the past three Players Championships, and US, British and Asian amateur champions. The top 16 finishers at the previous year’s Masters, the top 8 at the previous US Open, and the top 4 at the other two majors are also invited. Additional players are picked from the previous year’s PGA Tour money list, and the Official World Golf Ranking.

The US Masters Betting

Like other majors, The Masters is very popular with fans and gamblers. The tournament’s relatively small field makes for attractive wagers on the overall winners as well as head-to-head and 3-ball wagers.

Best Sportsbook for US Masters Betting

Sportsbook.com – This is a US friendly sportsbook where American players can make deposits using their credit card or by using one of the other supported deposit methods. US Masters bettors can take advantage of a 10% bonus on thier first deposit up to a maximum of $250. This sportsbook is also great when it comes to other types of golf betting.

Bookmaker.com – This sportsbook is one of the most trusted ones for US players and you can be sure that the money you win by betting on the US Masters will be paid out to your account promptly. They also offer a free $200 bonus for players looking to bet on the US Masters.

Bet365.com – This is the number one option for sports bettors from Europe looking to place some US Masters bets. Here you will get up to €100 for free when making your first bet on the US Masters of golf.

The Masters History

The Masters was originally known as the Augusta National Invitation Tournament when it was first contested in March 1934. Horton Smith won the first tournament and received the top prize of $1,000. The Masters name was adopted in 1939. The tournament was not held from 1943-1945 because of World War II – during those years cattle and turkeys were raised on the golf course grounds to assist the war effort.

In 1949, the tradition of presenting the winner with a green jacket began. Club members wear green sports coats, so the jacket symbolizes the winner becoming an honorary club member. Sam Snead won in 1949 and became the first player to win the jacket. Traditionally, the previous year’s champion presents the green jacket to the current year’s winner.

In 1961, South Africa’s Gary Player became the first non-American to win The Masters. In 1966, Jack Nicklaus became the first golfer to win consecutive Masters titles. In 1975, Lee Elder became the first African-American to qualify for The Masters, fifteen years before Augusta National finally admitted its first black member.

The Masters Winners

Jack Nicklaus holds the record for most Masters titles with six, winning his final Masters in 1986 at age 46. In 1997, Tiger Woods set the tournament scoring record with a -18. Woods and Arnold Palmer are tied for the second-most Masters wins with four. Gary Player, Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead, Nick Faldo and Phil Mickelson have each won The Masters three times.

Winners of the Masters receive automatic invitations to the other majors and The Players Championship for five years. Each year, two nights before the first round, a champions’ dinner is held at the club for past winners, with the defending champion getting to select the menu.

Tweeter button Facebook button Reddit button Digg button Stumbleupon button